Scott McLaughlin claimed his best finish of the 2015 V8 Supercars season in the first race of the Townsville weekend with fourth position for Wilson Security Racing GRM (Volvo Polestar Racing).

"This has been a great start to the weekend, hopefully this is a turning point. It was great seeing the team after the race, all pumped," said McLaughlin.

The Kiwi qualified fourth on the grid, just 0.0902 seconds from pole position and performed a strong race to finish fourth.

"The car was working really well and we went from 18th to 12th in the championship with this result. If we get a few more of these races we will be back in the top ten of the championship easy," said McLaughlin.

Team mate David Wall finished 18th after qualifying 19th on the grid, a result he is keen to improve tomorrow.

"This was a reasonable result, but still not good enough. We need to be in the top 15 of qualifying at least to make the day a little bit easier. I was happy with the car on soft tyres, but we need to chase a bit of confidence with the rear on the hard tyre. Apart from that the car was good," said Wall.

The Townsville V8 Supercars weekend continues tomorrow with another race of 200 kilometres.

Townsville 400 - V8 Supercars
Circuit: Townsville Street Circuit
Length: 2860 m
Lap record (V8SC): 1:13:4066, Mark Winterbottom, 2012

Race 16 - Top 5
1 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon 70 laps
2 David Reynolds Ford Falcon +0.271
3 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore +1.507
4 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 +6.992
5 Scott Pye Ford Falcon +7.643
18 David Wall Volvo S60 +54.065

Qualifying for Race 16 - Top 5
1 Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon 1:12.8663
2 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon +0.0620
3 David Reynolds Ford Falcon +0.0850
4 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 +0.0902
5 Scott Pye Ford Falcon +0.1429
19 David Wall Volvo S60 +0.7092

(Times in UTC +10h)

Sunday 12/7
10:35 Qualifying - Race 17 (20 min)
11:05 Top Ten Shootout
16:15 Race 17 (70 laps)

Championship Standings - Top 5
1 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon 1315 points
2 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore 1139 (-176)
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore 1133 (-182)
4 Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon 1081 (-234)
5 David Reynolds Ford Falcon 1063 (-252)
12 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 693 (-622)
23 David Wall Volvo S60 486 (-585)

TV Schedule

Media inquiries:

Greg Bosnich
Director, PR & Corporate, Volvo Car Australia
T: +61 2 9020 1673
M: +61 419 620995